(ONN) – Governor Mike DeWine says Ohio has received federal assistance for residents of 10 counties impacted by tornadoes, severe storms, flooding and landslides.

DeWine says President Trump issued a Presidential Disaster Declaration on Tuesday to help individuals and businesses after 21 tornadoes touched down in Auglaize, Darke, Greene, Hocking, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Muskingum, Perry, and Pickaway Counties.

The tornadoes touched down during severe storms May 27th and 28th.

A preliminary damage assessment by federal and state agencies identified 942 homes and buildings either destroyed or significantly damaged.

The declaration allows possible low-interest loans and opens up other assistance programs.